My Toughest Out / CC Sabathia

I found this story today and thought it might be encouraging to us all.


 

MY TOUGHEST OUT

An article by CC Sabathia – Pitcher / New York Yankees

Excerpts:

I’ve played in sold out stadiums. I’ve undergone numerous surgeries. And I’ve even pitched in the World Series.

But nothing scared me more than saying these three words: “I need help.”


 

“What I really wanted was for people to like me, to get that validation. But because I wasn’t naturally outgoing, I turned to alcohol to try to bring my personality out.”


 

“My dad and I were always very close. I think I got many of my best qualities from him. But he struggled with drug addiction.”


 

“I understand that I can relapse. And that’s why I’ve tried to be as open and public about this situation as I can. I want to be held accountable.”

 

Complete article here:

Leave a Reply

